L’établissement d’un Centre Régional

Qu’est-ce qu’un centre régional

Un centre régional est une zône géographique définie dans les Etats-Unis au sein de laquelle un promoteur cherche à promouvoir la croissance économique grâce à la vente et à l’exportation accrues, améliorations de la productivité régionale, la création de nouveaux emplois, et à augmenté l’investissement en capital domestique. Le centre régional peut être aussi grand que l’état entier ou aussi petit qu’un lot dans une ville.

 U.S. Dans l’élaboration et l’exploitation d’un centre régional désigné, le centre régional cherche à exploiter une utilisation spécifique à son profit et ceux des investisseurs étrangers. Ceci dit, le centre régional se concentre sur le marché ciblé et démographique auquel le centre régional pourra fournir ses services. Ce qui suit est un échantillon des utilisations qu’un centre régional peut choisir dans la modélisation de ses projets:

  • La production de filmes et programmation télévisée
  • Services de santé
  • La circulation internationale et l’import/export
  • Fabrication & recherche
  • Espace ou bureau commercial
  • Hôtel de plaisance
  • L’enseignement supérieur
  • Les écoles de commerce et écoles culinaires
  • L’exploitation des aéroports et ports
  • Les transferts de technologie et de la technologie
  • Tourisme
  • Transport
  • Hôtels, bureaux, commerces et résidentiel
  • Centres de conférence et espace d’exposition/convention
  • Fabrications légères/lourdes
  • Soutien de croisières
  • Rénovation de vieux bâtiments
  • Arts de la scène
  • Les sites historiques et institutions similaires
  • À usage multiples: Immobilier
  • Construction et rénovation
  • Installations portuaires
  • Jeux et secteur des casinos
  • Secteur marine
  • Appartements et condominiums
  • Cargo aérien
  • Banque commerciale / hypothécaire
  • Distribution ou entreposage
  • Exploitation minière et exploration

Les centres régionaux sont requis d’exiger un investissement de 1 million de dollars par famille investisseur, sauf si le projet est situé dans une zone d’emploi ciblée (TEA). Ce (TEA) peut être situé soit dans une zone rurale où la population est déterminée à 20,000 ou moins, ou, si le taux de chômage de la zone définie n’est pas inférieure à 150% de la moyenne nationale. Par exemple, il y a de nombreux projets de villégiature qui sont situés dans les zones montagneuses, où la population locale ne dépasse pas 20,000 dans le décompte du dernier recensement. D’autres projets peuvent être situés dans des zones qui sont dans le besoin de rajeunissement et où les taux de chômage sont élevés. Dans les deux scénarios, l’intention du Congrès est de fournir et d’encourager l’activité économique nécessaire et le développement de ces régions souvent éloignées ou dépourvues.

Les promoteurs de centres régionaux entreprennent une grande partie des responsabilités pour développer, gérer et terminer le projet. Leurs devoirs et obligations sont intégrés dans les paramètres de documents connus sous le nom du Mémorandum de Placement Privé, contrats de souscription, et les accords d’exploitation. Ces documents régissent la conduite du promoteur et l’investisseur et doivent être strictement respectés par toutes les politiques. Aucun document ne peut être signé aux États-Unis car le programme est strictement conçu pour les investisseurs étrangers.

Zones d’emploi ciblées (TEA)

Tout au long de ce site, nous avons brièvement évoqué le sujet des zones d’emploi ciblées, qui sont communément appelés «TEA». Il est important pour les développeurs et les investisseurs d’avoir une bonne compréhension de ce qu’est un (TEA) et leur rôle dans le programme EB-5.

creating jobsAvant qu’un centre régional soit créé, le développeur fera des recherches sur les secteurs de recensement tel que déterminé par le ministère du Travail d’un état particulier. Sur la base de cette information officielle, le développeur peut alors déterminer si le projet est considéré comme un (TEA) sous les directives des tendances démographiques dans lequel la population ne peut pas dépasser 20,000.

Le secteur de recensement doit être récent et basé sur les données du recensement le plus récent obtenu par l’état. Chaque comté et la région au sein de l’état aura un secteur de recensement car ils s’appuient souvent sur le financement fédéral pour un soutien supplémentaire. Si un (TEA) n’est pas identifié, alors la position, par défaut, est toujours un seuil de 1 million de dollars d’investissement pour l’investisseur et famille.

Une autre méthode utilisée pour qualifier comme un (TEA) est déterminée par les taux de chômage dans la zone où le développeur cherche à implanter le projet. En tant que tel, si le taux de chômage dépasse 150% de la moyenne nationale tel que déterminé par le Département des statistiques du travail, le développeur a la possibilité de définir le territoire pour son(TEA). L’avantage, bien sûr, est que le développeur sera en mesure d’offrir de l’investissement à des investisseurs étrangers au niveau $500,000.00.

Centre de conformité et de l’administration régionale

Un centre régional désigné reçoit le bénéfice et un privilège d’un usage spécifique ou utilisé tels que désignés par l’USCIS. Toutes les demandes de désignation régionales sont approuvées. En tant que tel, la réception du statut de centre régional est un avantage très convoité au promoteur et leurs investisseurs.

Afin de préserver sa qualification, le centre régional doit être prêt à déposer un rapport annuel auprès de l’USCIS qui fournira les renseignements relatifs à chaque investisseur, y compris les noms, nationalités, et les montants d’investissement. Le rapport annuel de conformité permettra l’USCIS de suivre les progrès du programme, et d’évaluer les dangers de la concentration en cours dans un domaine du monde, ou des failles dans le recrutement de certains investisseurs. Le programme EB-5 collabore avec les États-Unis et l’objectif de l’Amérique à rechercher constamment la diversité, même parmi ses immigrants les plus riches.

Faute de déposer le rapport à temps, peut obliger l’USCIS de révoquer le statut de centre régional par une stratégie de pré-centre agréé. Mise à part la responsabilité juridique du promoteur de cet oubli, il place les investisseurs en grave danger de ne pas être en mesure de déposer la levée du I-829 de la résidence avec sursis.

Centres agréés régionaux

Actuellement, le Groupe Juridique Behar a réussi à obtenir l’approbation de l’USCIS pour les centres régionaux suivants:

Nous en représentons huit nouveaux centres.

Disclaimer

The use of this web site, or any of the contact forms found on this web site, for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this web site.

×

establishing a regional center

 

What is a Regional Center

A regional center is no more than a defined geographical area in the U.S within which a sponsor seeks to promote economic growth through increased export sales, improved regional productivity, the creation of new jobs, and increased domestic capital investment. The regional center can be as large as an entire state or as small as one square city block.

In developing and operating a designated regional center, the regional center seeks to exploit a specific use for its benefit and those of foreign investors. In doing so, the regional center ascertains the target market and demographic to which the regional center will deliver its services. The following is a sample of the uses that a regional center may chose in modeling its projects:

  • Film & TV Production
  • Health Services
  • International Traffic & Cargo
  • Manufacturing & Research
  • Commercial Office Space
  • Hotel, Leisure Resort
  • Higher Education
  • Trade Schools/ Culinary Schools
  • Airport & Seaport Operations
  • Technology and technology transfers
  • Tourism
  • Transportation
  • Mixed Hotel, Office, Retail & Residential space
  • Conference Centers & Exhibition space
  • Light & Heavy manufacturing
  • Cruise Line support
  • Renovation of obsolete buildings
  • Performing Arts
  • Historical sites & similar Institutions
  • Mixed use : Real Estate
  • Construction and renovation
  • Harbor facilities
  • Gaming & Casino sector
  • Marine Sector
  • Apartments & Condominiums
  • Air Cargo
  • Banking/ Lending
  • Warehouse Distribution
  • Mining and exploration

Regional centers are presumed to require a $1 million investment per investor family, unless the project is situated in a Targeted Employment Area (‘TEA’). This ‘TEA’ can be located either in a rural area where the population is determined to be 20,000 or less, or, where the unemployment of the defined area is no less than 150% of the national average. For example, there are many resort projects which are located in mountain areas, where the local population did not exceed 20,000 in the last census count. Other projects may be situated in areas which are in need of rejuvenation and where the unemployment levels are high. Under either scenario, the Congressional intent is to provide and encourage the much needed economic activity and development to these often remote or blighted areas.

Sponsors of regional centers undertake a great deal of responsibilities to develop, manage, and complete the project. Their duties and obligations are incorporated in the parameters of documents known as the Private Placement Memorandum, Subscription Agreements, and Operating Agreements. These documents govern the conduct of the sponsor and the investor and must be strictly respected and abided by all policies. No document can be signed within the U.S. as the program is strictly designed for foreign nationals.

Targeted Employment Areas (TEA)

Throughout this site, we have briefly mentioned the subject of targeted employment areas, which are commonly known as ‘TEAs’. It is important for developers and investors to have a good understanding of what a TEA is and their role in the EB-5 program.

creating jobsBefore a regional center is created, the developer will research the census tracts as determined by the department of labor of a particular state. Based on this official information, the developer can then determine if the project qualifies as a TEA under population trend guidelines; wherein the population cannot exceed 20,000.

The census tract must be recent and based on the most current census information obtained by the state. Each county and area within the state will have a census tract as they often rely on federal funding for supplementary support. If a TEA is not identified, then the default position is always a $1 million dollar investment threshold for the investor.

An alternative method used to qualify as a TEA is determined by the unemployment levels in the area where the developer seeks to locate the project. As such, if the unemployment level surpasses 150 percent of the national average as determined by the Department of Labor statistics, then the developer has an opportunity to outline the territory for his TEA. The advantage, of course, is that the developer will be able to offer the investment to foreign nationals at the $500,000 level.

Regional Center Compliance & Administration

A designated regional center receives the benefit and thus a privilege to operate a specific use or uses as conferred by the USCIS. Not all regional center designation applications are approved. As such, the receipt of regional center status is a much coveted benefit to the sponsor and their investors.

In order to preserve its qualification, the regional center must be prepared to file an annual report with the USCIS which will provide required information pertaining to each investor including the names, nationalities, and investment amounts. The annual compliance report will allow the USCIS to monitor the progress of the program, and to assess any dangers of over concentration in one area of the world, or flaws in the recruitment of certain investors. The EB-5 program collaborates with the United States of America’s goal to constantly seek diversity, even amongst its wealthier immigrants.

Failure to file the report on time may oblige the USCIS to revoke the Regional Center status of a specific pre-approved center. Aside from the legal liability of the sponsor for this oversight, it places the investors in serious jeopardy of not being able to file the I-829 lifting of conditional residency.

Approved Regional Centers

Currently, the Behar Law Group has successfully obtained USCIS regional center approval for the following regional centers:

 Regional Centers with I-526 Approvals

Disclaimer

The use of this web site, or any of the contact forms found on this web site, for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this web site.

×